top of page
Search

Quarantime: I'm done 🙃

Updated: Aug 3, 2020



( No that's not a typo; just a lame pun)


What a time! 2020 was my year to GET👏🏽 IT👏🏽 TOGETHER👏🏽 and I had began to plan quite a bit of it; to the point where I had a list of everything I wanted to do and when I wanted to do it. *laugh* But God just saw my plans and said, "child, sit down". 🙃




Covid-19 has caused so much chaos and disruption globally and I acknowledge how fortunate I am to be able to continue learning and still connect with my friends. These last four months have seen our lives completely change and we've been forced to adopt new social behaviours, change our working /learning locations and above all try to maintain a semblance of 'normalcy' and routine. How are we doing?


I for one am struggling. Over the course of this year, I've been in school for a total of two weeks and unexpectedly separated from people I wasn't ready to not see for an uncertain period of time. On top of that, there's so many important choices I feel I have to make now, that I'm just stressed.


It's really hitting me now how much I miss my second years and co-years and just how much I love school. Keeping up with academic work has been a challenge and everyday I find myself so drained it physically hurts to work the next day. This girl has been living with some weird headaches that its now funny. But, I am super grateful for all my friends whose video calls and chats have given me encouragement.


The time I've gotten to spend at home with my family has been great. Save for the argument my mother and I had about where she should have one of her zoom meetings and the distance between us and my dad- whom I worry is getting hit hard by boredom.



Our bandwidth- emotional and internet- has been strained and everyone is simply exhausted. So just a reminder: check in on those around you and don't forget to check on yourself. Although some of us are dealing with this better than others, don't beat yourself up because your peers are using this time "more productively" than you.


Do what you can to get into a rhythm that works and go with that until its time to change again. Until then, just try to do your best everyday- whether that means doing nothing all day or checking everything off your to-do list. 😌




x

Jadynsweb

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page