top of page
Search

In Spain (but without the 'S'): Term 3 reflections

Updated: Dec 19, 2020

When I thought about my reflection for term 3, I really wanted it to be a positive one.

One where I would detail the highs of my term and maybe even the shining moments of the wreck that has been 2020. Because honestly, there's been glimmers and radiant light that has pushed through the cracks made by the chaotic events we’ve witnessed and experienced. At one point, I wanted the ground to open and swallow me because there were just too many deadlines, tests and exams. It became really hard to find joy because I was exhausted in all ways- physically #whatissleep, emotionally and mentally. So yeah, its been hard -but its also been fun.


For starters, I’m grateful to be in Hong Kong just living and experiencing LPC life. In January I (and a bunch of other students) left Hong Kong for what we thought would be a short while. Turns out…we misread the situation. Completely misread it. A pandemic ensued and we were separated…miles apart, watching each other’s lives continue through zoom and Instagram.


All things considered, this year unfolded in ways I hadn’t expected and caused the unraveling and coming together of many things and people. This term, I have new roommates both of whom I’ve come to appreciate so much because they have such interesting stories to tell. I especially love the energy and dynamism of our conversations because we go from discussing how a teacher kept us late in class to Bobo and Flex’s latest podcast.

Left to right: Aya, Diya, Vivian and I

Soooo.... Let's jump in!

(in no particular order)

MESCA ( Middle East South and Central Asia) Cultural Evening

I still can't decide what was more memorable: the LPC community chanting LPC in the still of the night or the delicious food the MESCANS whipped up. It was so inspiring to see the members surmount ~big~ challenges- including reshooting the ENTIRE show days before it happened and put on an astounding show.



Roomie highlights:

Whether we were blending smoothies in the dayroom, making melty, gorrgeeouuss grilled cheese sandwiches or having an indoor "roomie outing" making dumplings, I loved cooking with my roommates and listening to Shawn Mendes and of course, Aya's Spotify playlists.


3/205 is home to the biggest procrastinators but its lovely to have roommates who prioritize rest and taking time off when you need it. <3




Meals at Tam Jai (Tofu puffs will always be in my heart)

Central to the LPC experience is of course, noodles from Tam Jai. Notably, the Chongqing soup with tofu puffs which are TO DIE FOR. (I'm really not exaggerating) Impromptu or planned, a quick meal at Tam Jai has never disappointed me.


History in Carl's ~iconic~ triumvirate

History class on its own was one of my term's highlights but working in a trio with some of my favourite people has made the class even more enjoyable. It's been a blast to work on essay plans, be nerdy and make history jokes that people understand and can actually laugh at <3 😂😂


Diwali with friends

One of my friends Nandini so kindly invited us to her home to celebrate Diwali (the festival of light) with her and her family. We got to experience and learn the meaning of the festival and had a great time eating AMAAZZIINGG food with her family. Peak ~cultural engagement and exchange~.


Little trips with friends

From the one hour trip to Cadillac for happy hour and the sweaty hike to go swimming at a little natural pool at Wu Kai Sha, to the little walks along the Ma On Shan promenade, some of the best times I've had this term have been during little outings like these. Of course, the weather (and pandemic) has made outings like these less frequent. Still, I'm grateful for these moments and memories.



Jamhuri day lunch :))

It would be atrocious if I didn't include our amazing meal here. LPC Kenyans(+ a German+ a Nigerian) really went off! There were samosas and masala tea involved and that should say it all. It was super fun to cook and share food from home while jamming to the legends that are Sauti Sol.



Video calls with the fam:



These remain extremely special because there is no better way to end your day than a conversation in the family group chat or a call about how your day turned out.


Lunch calls and calls to rant have been my favourite and its nice to talk about what happened in the last Formula One race or see what my dad and sister cooked for lunch.


Whether it was an uncooperative spreadsheet or a confusing class that ruined your day, 'masters of the universe' as we call each other would always be there to salvage it.










So while there have been moments of complete despair ie exams and early university applications, moments like these have really made my hectic term SO MUCH better. People often ask what the 'UWC' experience is and honestly, this term has been the 'most UWC' for me. The community has pulled together to keep each other afloat and spending time with such amazing people, celebrating and engaging different cultures through food and music while trying to survive the IB is peak UWC (or at least LPC) life.


These are the highlights :))

Happy Holidays!

x

- Jadynsweb

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page