top of page
Search

Mara this, Mara that...



If you're Kenyan this caption will make sense to you in more ways than one. If not, I'm so sorry I can't translate this accurately. :)


Anywhoooo, my family (like everyone in Nairobi, I guess) decided to become tourists and visit MAASAI MARA! There has never been a more "Jambo" moment in my life than visiting a place that more internationals than locals have gone to.


We stayed at Sekenani camp which I absolutely loved. Nestled in the trees with streams flowing around, the site is a picture of serenity coupled with great hospitality which made the weekend adventure even better. Of course, the kids had a little shoot:


Our weekend trip featured two great game drives and while waking up at 5:30 am was not it, everything was worth it once we got to see such majestic animals so closely. With the crisp wind blowing through the car and the smell of dung hanging faintly in the air, we took in the sights and silently had our own individual moments in awe of nature. Here are some of my favourite shots:



If you know Cindy and Jens then you know the hours spent in the car together made for an entertaining trip all round -and of course lots of snacking!



Now....the moment we'd been looking forward to all weekend long! The famous Wildebeest migration! Just to let y'all know, wildebeest go through A LOT but also, they're a little dumb. The herds can spend hours at the river bank and much to the disappointment of the tourists...NOT cross! We arrived "promptly" at the site and as seconds turned into minutes that turned into what felt like hours, we decided to take a detour for a bush lunch.


Tell me why though, we nearly missed the migration! Thankfully, our driver was informed and we dashed trying to make it in time. If you've ever wanted a rally experience, just be late for the migration and you'll experience the same adrenaline flying over the bumps in the savannah!


One thing I'd like to note though, is that these animals face so many threats in crossing the river. From the crocodiles wading in the water, the fatigue of swimming across, to the hundreds of cars obstructing their route...it's a wonder that majority of them make it! However, as with everything in life, there's always a price to pay:



Now, I'm aware that some people say the migration is the "8th wonder of the world" and while its definitely an experience to have, I'd like to shout out other gorgeous animals that don't get the same appreciation:


Now, as we near the end of this post, I'd like to share some of the best portraits I may have taken in my life! Sekenani provided the perfect backdrop and a lovely bridge on which we took the shots:



Now goodbye from me and the fam <3


Have a great week and as usual, like, comment and share!

x

- Jadynsweb

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page